Tony Romo Finally Gets Shot at Super Bowl

“See here, Jim.”

Congratulations, Tony! After your mildly successful NFL career as the Dallas Cowboy signal caller, you finally made it to the biggest stage of the NFL season. Whatever happens on that field will go down in gridiron lore, with fingerprints pressed on the prized Lombardi Trophy and be crowned champions of the 2018 season and forever engraved as victors of Super Bowl LIII.

Except, you won’t be on the field. You’ll be in the booth.

For the first time, Tony Romo will be at a Super Bowl. No, not as a player, but a commentator for the CBS booth alongside the legendary Jim Nantz. Even though you weren’t my favorite player and were the butt of many jokes I chuckled at, like how your favorite soft drink was “Choke”-a-Cola, or how you could put a bakery out of business from all your turnovers, I respect you as the commentator of the game.

I do sports commentary here at the University of South Dakota and I’m nowhere near as good as Mr. Romo or ever will be. You aren’t just a Grade-A professional with the headset on, you are a wizard, Tony, and a thumping good one. You predict the future and call out plays before they even happen. For the first time in my life, I’m excited to say I look forward to seeing Tony Romo at a Super Bowl. You make it so fun and interesting, Tony!

Now only if he could use his wizardry and predict the outcome of the game.

Leave a comment