A Thank You Letter To Sports

I’m going to go a different route for this blog post. I’ve been blogging about recent happenings in the world of sports, but today I’m feeling a little thankful. I don’t know why, it’s not like it’s Thanksgiving or anything, but bear with me on this one. Today, I just wanted to show my gratitude towards all the sweat, all the tears and the countless hours of prepping physically and mentally that go into sports.

I wasn’t always into sports. I never really payed attention to them until I was around 12. But then one day, it just clicked. Sports became interesting to me. The lunch table became one to discuss who was the best quarterback or point guard in their respective leagues, while using stats to back up your claims. It was as if every time you chattered anything sports, you felt like an analyst on ESPN. With sports, I felt like I had a voice.

I went out for football in high school–no, this isn’t a story that gives a vibe that peaked in those years. I was never the best player and my position was not one on the field, but making sure the bench was warm. Actually, scratch that, we stood on the sidelines. I never received accolades or got much praise for my athletic ability, but what it did teach me is that the results you get in the end depends on the work you put in. Not everything is handed down–you have to work for it. Innumerable hours in the weight room, sweat causing down your back and sore muscles didn’t necessarily help me be a starter, but it built up work ethic and made me stronger willed. It kept me chasing for goals. But more importantly, it taught me to be a team player. Show appreciation for those who succeed–don’t put them down. Be selfless and continue to work hard not just for yourself, but for your team. With sports, I felt like I was a team player.

College rolls around and here I am broadcasting my first ever game in Division I sports, shaking in my boots. It was a volleyball game and I wasn’t necessarily an expert in the game. To make a long story short, my first broadcast was subpar. However, it was good wake up call, and that in order to be better, you had to put in the work, just like any other sport. It was a cycle of bettering oneself. I am still trying to improve, but with the help of broadcasting sports, it’s progress in the making.

Sports isn’t just some random people running around with a ball or hitting small objects with sticks, but it can build character. It brings people together and helps people find a voice. So with that, I just wanted to say to the games we enjoy and watch, thanks!

Leave a comment